Response to the Blindfold Exercise

I wonder how many people participated completely? I know that I didn’t quite. First of all, I’m not sure if I walked away from the classroom for the full three minutes. Second, I kind of peeked a few times. I didn’t mean to, but I could see the ground if I looked down through a gap in the blindfold under my nose. I tried to just keep my eyes closed but when I was scared I might run into something it was hard not to open them.

Also, at the very end, I was so completely turned around that I thought maybe I was going in the completely wrong direction. At that point it had been quite a while since we’d left on the assignment and I figured I really should hurry up and get back to class, so I took off the blindfold. It turns out I was really kind of close to the room. There were random people in the halls kind of looking at me, wondering what I was doing. It may have been embarrassing but I could see other people around with blindfolds also, so it wasn’t, because I wasn’t the only one. It’s weird how things work like that.

When I went back into the classroom most of the class had already returned. So I wonder if others took off their blindfolds also, before I did. Or maybe I just went really really slow. I applaud the few people I saw walk into class after me, blindfolds still on.

I couldn’t help trying to think of why this exercise was significant to the class subject. Which I guess is the point of the exercise really. I think a lot of what it was meant to teach us had to do with something I touched on a little bit earlier, about being embarrassed. We need to get over the embarrassment if we want to express ourselves. We need to not care what other people think. Haha or at least something like that!

5 Comments

Filed under Student Response

5 responses to “Response to the Blindfold Exercise

  1. ladywood

    I found the blindfold exercise to be difficult, as I had to fully immerse myself in my auditory senses and touch. I am so used to seeing, that I couldn’t really imagine what it would be like to be to be blind. I will admit, it was frightening. I was thrown completely out of my comfort zone. All I knew was that there was a wall on my right, and a person somewhere behind me and another in front. I remember counting the doors and hallways so I would know how to get back to the room, but I was so focused on things I could touch with my hand that I forgot about the things I often overlook in the hallway. It was about several inches away from a bench that I remember there was a bench somewhere in the hall.
    I found this exercise heightened my senses and made me step outside of my comfort zone, which was good because we can’t grow stronger unless we take risks. I think it would be interesting to do this exercise for a day (don’t get any ideas!!) so we can ‘see’ what it would be like to rely on all our other senses. Sometimes I see a blind man walking around campus, using a stick, yet blazing a trail like he could see where he was going. I would be terrified to go as fast as he was! I was scared I would run into a wall and even when my fingers touched one I would jerk my head back like my face had hit it. I just pray I never go blind.

  2. proverbs3v18

    I participated fully in the blindfold exercise. In fact, I was the last one to get back to the room. I took the three minutes and went up to the fourth floor and wandered around, trying to develop a strategy for how to get back – i.e. there are so many doors before I need to turn, etc. However, I forgot to memorize the position of the 2nd floor button on the elevator. I didn’t feel like randomly riding the elevator so I took the stairs instead.

    This was a rather unnerving process because I am such a visual person; being deprived of my most used faculty made the journey slow. I was worried about what people would think of a blindfolded person going down the stairs, but to my surprise someone actually helped me. She asked what I was doing and what it was for and I explained it – a class exercise for Performance art. I do not think she quite understood, but she said she would walk with me until I got to the right floor. From there I stumbled around till I heard Heidi’s voice, and figured I was still going in the right direction – despite my slowness.

    In response to this previous post, I think you are right that it is to teach us not to be embarrassed, or to feel that are efforts are a waste or unimportant – in short, have faith and courage people. Even though we may not know exactly where we are going and the road is difficult, if we take what we have and do what we can, we will eventually get there – I may have been the last back to the class, but I came from far away and never took off my blindfold.

  3. Molly

    This type of exercise separates the theater majors into the tech crew and the stage actors. If I was a theater major, I’d definately be a “techie”. I found my sense of embarrasment and self conciousness heightened incredibly, yet I attempted it nevertheless. It was awkward and silly and I felt like a 16 year old girl on her first day of a new school and not knowing where to sit at lunch time. But I am mature…I promise, and I went through it knowing that it was a learning experience. What I learned was very much what the first person who made a comment was, that in order to be creative, one has to be wierd and abnormal, attempt new and really scary things, and fail once in a while, like most of us did (I’m sure) by cheating and feeling bad about it. I have a feeling performance art has a lot in common with theater, pretending not to be petrified of what others think of you in order to show off your truly fabulous self.

  4. kait

    The blindfold exercise to me was at first embarrassing, but later after contemplation it was rather inspiring. I thought about how I had to use all of my other senses, since I no longer had my sight, and how underdeveloped my other senses are. Imagine VanGogh without his site of color, or Bernini without fingers, they may to this day not have ever been considered artists. I too would lose a lot of who I am if I didn’t have my sight. I would feel lost, but eventually I would learn to adapt and develop my other senses. This is to me an analogy of how I feel about this class. Right now I feel like I am without my sight, lost wandering aimlessly, but soon my other senses will kick in and I will learn to steady myself in other areas by the end of this term.

  5. kkomaenge

    Blindfold exercise was very fun. I had never tired this but it was a very interesting experiment. I was scared to work on the step. I almost fell down. I could not find the step. Other people were calling each other’s names. Also, it was hard to blind my eyes because I felt like something was in front of me. I think it was a good experiment. It was very shot time but I understand the blinds.

Leave a Reply

